Home > Announcements > ScienceBlogs 1 Million Comments Parties

ScienceBlogs 1 Million Comments Parties

UPDATE: Party date changed to Sept. 28th. Other details remain the same. Let me know if you are interested in joining us!
UPDATE: Here are details of my party, which is scheduled for Sept 14th:
Brunch at Farmicia, 15 S. 3rd St, Philadelphia, PA at 11 a.m.
Visit Penn Museum of Archeology & Anthropology to see Surviving: The Body of Evidence exhibit (Museum is open 1 to 5 pm) which is part of Philadelphia’s Year of Evolution celebration.
Afterwards, gelato at Capogiro. Mmmmmmm.
Possibly drinks & something else to eat after that, we don’t know for sure.
ORIGINAL POST:
As Sciencewoman has noted and as you can read here, ScienceBlogs is approaching the 1 million comments milestone (that’s a lot of discussion, folks!) and to celebrate, there are lots of parties going on all over the place.
There’s also a contest involved, info found here.

one lucky reader will win an all-out science adventure — a trip for two to New York City and exclusive science adventures only ScienceBlogs could give you access to.
The trip includes airfare, four nights in a four-star hotel, behind-the-scenes tours of top museums and labs, and dinner with your favorite ScienceBlogger.

Go enter the contest!
Now, if any of you live in the greater Philadelphia area (Lab Cat, that’s you!) and are interested, I can host a 1 Million Comments party, courtesy of our benevolent overlords, and they will pay for a round of drinks. Anybody interested? Drop a comment here. If at least one person says yes then I will organize something, date TBA. If you are interested, leave your preferred date which should be sometime between September 14 and September 28. Feel free to suggest a venue, too. Any place with drinks (alcoholic, non-alcoholic) and food is fine. It would be good to have vegetarian food available because I’m betting Lab Cat will attend. White Dog Cafe is one possibility. Here’s hoping at least one of you lives around here and wants to do this!
UPDATE: Maybe Farmicia would be a great place to eat and drink! Then we could walk to Capogiro’s for dessert!

Categories: Announcements
  1. September 8, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    A party. Yo with a special invite for me! Very cool.
    I love the White Dog. My schedule is really tight as I teach three nights a week and I have choir on one of the other nights – leaving just Friday and Sat nights free. Also, I am away at Knitters Day Out on Sept 19 – 20 so unless anyone else wants it at some other time- I am voting for either 26th or 27th Sept.

  2. September 8, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Just wondering, if Sunday afternoon/early evening is a possibility for anyone? That gives us the 14th, 21st, or 28th as possibilities. Or is that not a great time for a Science-y party?

  3. September 8, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    I’m sorry I’m too far away to join in the fun!

  4. Becca
    September 8, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I can swing a Sunday afternoon/early evening. Although I do note that this Farmicia place does Brunch until 3pm. I loves me some Brunch! Although science + brunch might be weird for some. Science + drinks is probably more normal.
    Actually, I just looked at the menus for both the White Dog and Farmicia and now I’m practically drooling. The gelato didn’t help either!

  5. September 8, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Peggy, I wish you could be here to join us. I can’t believe there isn’t a party near you out there. What a pity.

  6. Becca
    September 9, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Muse142- if you really mean that, get off the turnpike at Harrisburg and I’ll drive the rest of the way.
    😛
    Unless you mean “too many hours away from studying” or some such other responsible nonsense.

  7. Jill
    September 17, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    This would be an interesting get together. I don’t often comment, but I would enjoy meeting those of you who do.

  8. September 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    That’s great, Andre! I’ll add you and your partner to the brunch reservation!

  9. Becca
    September 30, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Woohoo! ’twas some awesome time. Thanks again Zuska!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

