Home > Friday Fare, Geekalicious, The Real Geek Goddesses > What a True Geekstress Looks Like

What a True Geekstress Looks Like

I have a friend who is always making up the most wonderful names for his female friends by adding the syllable “stress” to unusual words. My favorite was one he gave me after a nefarious piece of business: underminestress. Believe me, the person deserved it. Anyway, I say all this by way of explaining the word “geekstress” in my post title there. It’s meant proudly and campily, the way my friend uses the modifier.
So: what does a true geekstress look like? We are in the process of finding out!


Kristin just posted this link to a contest on Inkling magazine:

In honor of all girl-geeks everywhere, as gloriously encapsulated by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Ander’s She’s Such a Geek! (SSAG), Inkling’s decided to host a girl-geek photo competition.

I am totally loving the photo of Leah Grasso in her Lt. Uhurah costume.
What a delicious antidote to that awful U of I calendar crap.
Get busy with your digital cameras and take some lovely geeky photos of yourself. I wish I had a circuit-board corset like Ellen Spertus but I am afraid I have none such geeky garb. I might have an old t-shirt lurking around with an NMR spectrum on it. That will have to do. Hey, I could pose with all three of my theses and my five diplomas/graduate certificates! A certified geek! No, that’s lame. Damn, I don’t have access to any sexy lab equipment. All I’ve got here is my ancient laptop and my new Canon printer. I do have a box full of old textbooks in the basement (every survivor of academe has a box like that). But go look at Louisa Poskitt’s self-portrait with book. Who could match that????

  1. February 16, 2007 at 2:13 am

    I’m all about geek chicks. My only problem with it is that being smart women, they know better than to date geek guys.

  2. knobody
    February 16, 2007 at 8:24 am

    hmmmmm, i’ll have to dig out a pic of me and the girls all wearing our “DNA is Life” t’s in hawaii. we were, of course, there for a conference, but the picture is taken with us worshiping the almighty coffee bean.

  3. February 17, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I found the gratuitous upskirt shot rather jarring, myself.

  4. February 20, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    I agree, at first I thought it was just a kind of blah photo of an attractive woman reading a nerdy magazine. Then I noticed the underwear.
    The good thing is, that photo isn’t even in the running. There are so many great geekstresses to choose from, and there’s still a week left in the contest!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

